acting
 
Friday, 12. December 2003
Discuss 117 - 2004

Articulate, Inquire, Inform, Involve . . .

... Comment

I'm in.

Well the term hasn't started yet but let's see who will be in 117 2004

... Link

YAY!

I am so totally there! It should be a fun class. I wonder if we're going to go outside again.....

... link


... Comment
... or here ?

Hi Raymon,
which board should we use ? You said you wanted to have only one page for 117. Well now we have three. This one and then each section has its own page in Paws with a message board and lost of other stuff.
Please help, what should be the home for our souls ?

... Link

Which Board?

Well . . . Paws is the formal University monitored web service and has more features.

acting is an independent site.

I have never known antville (helma object publisher) to fail & Paws has been down quite a bit.

I will try and keep both current.

For announcements & email Paws is more functional so consider acting a more personal, alternative space.

Let's see how it develops.

... link


... Comment
Hello all!

well, i finally signed up for this chat room! hello all 117ers! hows life in your worlds?

... Link


... Comment
Sarah Hampson Interview:Larry Moss

(bede, Monday, 16. February 2004, 12:13 AM)

Sarah Hampson Interview:Larry Moss
Read an article in the Globe and Mail about drama teacher teacher Larry Moss. He explains that the actor's desire to perform is "the raw need to feel and be witnessed. It's the desire not to be invisible...The deepest part of a true actor is the desire to be absolutely truthful in imaginary circumstances."
Any thoughts?

notes:
bede moved your query to this talkback page to stimulate open discussion
link to Globe&Mail article: Growing with Moss
or when linkrot occurs check Growing with Moss

... Link


... Comment
Discussion for Evening Class?

I sincerely hope that I in the right place. Before I post comments, can I get some of the Powers That Be (Raymon, Kat) to confirm that this discussion will start here?

... Link

Yes

This is the place for discussion.

... link


... Comment
Strong Emotion

(I've taken this thread from Paws (MorningClass) and transplanted it here)

I've been pondering something for some time now--how do we, as actors, portray realistic emotion onstage? There was some pretty strong stuff dished out over the last week, and my question is pretty basic--how? It's basically the old internal/external technique debate.

Do you bring things from your own personal life into the role? For example, if you had to break down and cry, do you try to recall the saddest thing that ever happened to you, or a similar sad event, or something along those lines? Do you produce an image for yourself? I used my own relationships with my brother and my father to try and mirror the emotional quality in my scene.

Do you alter your movements, your tone of voice, and so forth, so that you’re imitating physical sadness, and thereby cause the emotion to spring from that? Austin, for me, meant I was very tense, my lips were held clenched a lot, and his voice was slightly higher and crisper than mine.

Do you take a certain attitude or stance or state of mind to your work? I watched Serpico on DVD recently (I live for DVD commentary) and apparently, every time Al Pacino, as Serpico, had to be in a sad scene, he would mope about the entire day. When his had to be happy, he himself was happy. He seems to steep himself in emotion, and then bring that to bear upon the scene. Other than just trying to enjoy my scene as much as possible, I didn’t do much of this, although I definitely tried to channel my onstage-adrenaline into the tension and repressions within Austin.

I know Yoshi Oida (Invisible Actor) talks about balance and harmony between both internal and external technique. I know that they are by no means unrelated. But where does the feeling originate?

I did a series of summaries of famous essays on drama and acting for my English 112 class, and one of them was by our ol’ pal Stanislavski:

“A fundamental axiom, therefore, for the actor who wishes to be a real artist on the stage, may be stated thus: he must not play to produce emotions, and he must not involuntarily evoke them in himself.” (Direction and Acting, 1947)

He says that both imitations of outward responses and deliberately trying to conjure up emotion from oneself are wrong. I guess it brings a consciousness to the work (be really angry . . . now!) which the audience might detect, but it seems to me, in some instances, that what is pretend can seem very real on the stage; there is nothing an actor can do but pretend. Stanislavski says that the emotion must come from the actor’s portrayal character’s needs, or motivations, and the actor’s supreme concentration and belief in the “artistic ‘suppose.’” From there, emotion should arise organically.

My scene was comical and slightly absurdist, with only a sort of façade of realism (the full-length play develops the absurdism much more), so I didn’t have really huge and serious emotional moments, at least not to the same extent that some of you did. Austin went and repressed them all, anyway.

At any rate, I guess I’ve been wrestling with this basic problem ad nauseam in my drama journal: Stanislavski seems to be calling me a phony. And I want to tell him he’s crazy, that he’s full of it.

Onstage emotion must have a source. I know we did sourcework in 116, to discover those sources, but isn’t drawing emotion from them a violation of Stanislavski’s axiom? Doesn’t that also mean that psychological gesture is emotional forgery? Didn’t Stanislavski end his career working with that stuff?

I’m confused. Writing it all out for public consumption helps a bit, but it’s still there.

How do you guys produce emotion, and what do you think of my Stanislavski-grapplin’?
Any and all comments are welcomed and appreciated.

- Brent McFarlane


Yeah, you've asked me this and I've thought about it a little more. I know I sound cliche and well, maybe a little stupid, but I mean you don't have to pick one method and say this is the right method because this guy said so. I mean look at art, there are so many different types and forms and techniques and some work better for some people and well some don't. I (I think I sound ridciculous) Stanislavski's axiom might just be an axiom for him. And maybe some other people too, depending on what works. I think Drama is too hmmm... I don't know, but it's not like Math or Science where there is only one way to get to get the right answer. Wait, maybe that analogy doesn't work... I don't know, but it seems to me that you can't just say one way is right or wrong.

But how I got my emotions was from a variety of things:

1) My adrenaline, I need to be nervous to act.

2) My experiences, I need to have felt it before, like in Education is our Right, I don't think I was angry enough, but that's because well I couldn't relate and such. But with Elizabeth, I know what it feels like to be cheated on so the devastation wasn't too hard, (I still feel like a phoney though...)and if you are going through a more difficult time it's easier to be upset. For me at least.

3) I think I have to feel about my scene, not necessarily love it. I hated my scene but especially my character. (I know this goes against what Raymon says, but I don't think you have to love your scene or character, I think you have to feel about it, and not be indifferent.) Elizabeth was everything I wasn't, I hated how she acted and talked and was so timid. She was a wimp essentially. For those of you who know me, would know I am not like that. (At least I don't think I am.)

So to sum that all up, uhhh... yeah, gosh Brent don't know. I guess it's whatever tickles your fancy and brings out the best in you.

I hope I helped, but probably not... But have a good weekend!

Cheers Caitlin


Yeah, I'd totally agree with ya, Caitlin, that you really have to use your adrenaline, to capture it. I think I heard Kelsey Grammer say something about "don't fight the dragon" once, but it probably sounded way cooler. You need to work *with* your energy. And, yeah, you also really have to have an emotional involvement with your scene, somehow. It has to trigger something. It can't be just "la la la, I'm acting now" without some kind of either enjoyment or catharsis, because a)it'll suck, and b)What's the point for you as an actor?

Hmmm . . . yeah, bringing stuff from your own life is always good, I think, but it's interesting . . . I don't know, you can't be like "BE SAD NOW! REMEMBER SAD THING!" Or can you? Do you consciously make yourself sad? What if the memory doesn't affect you as much that day? I don't know, emotion is so variable. That's why I HATE stage directions like "cries" or "laughs".

There's some stuff in Acrobat about everything being a response to real or imagined objects (or something like that) and about using images in your work. Maybe that has some relevance here, but I'll have to make sure I know what I'm talking about first.

Thanks for posting!
- Brent McFarlane


I agree with Caitlin.. I don't think there's any ONE right way. Especially because look at how many books have been published about methods by successful actors. Different methods are working well for each of them. For me.. it's a combination of all of the things. Physical choices help to get emotions and distance yourself from emotions that you really have. I mean, in the Laramie Project I played someone who had EXACT opposite to my thoughts.. but a lot of my emotions for her came from physical choices. Also, some of emotions come from my own past and thoughts on experiences. If I hadn't felt so strongly about the Laramie project, my performance would've been totally different. I think it is completly impossible to "put away" your past experiences and thoughts. As an actor you strive for that, but it's never possible, because this is part of your conscious self. Lastly, I don't know what else.. it's also a REALLY confusing issue for me.. and I agree with Caitlin and Bronwyn that some of it is mimicking. That's why many actors are so observant, because that allows them to incorporate other ppl's physical choices into their work. Overall, I agree, that this is a huge and confusing issue.. the End
- Mari Chartier
Once again, I totally agree with ya. Everybody has to find their own path, and I think I'm slowly stumbling onto mine. I'm finding Acrobat very, very helpful, but that's another post I'll put up right away.

One thing I think was really cool about Laramie was that each character, because they were basically just narrating their own story, had a single pose, for the most part, and generally a gesture or two. The physical choices were really clear, and that alone got both the audience and the actors into the story more. For example, the actor who portayed the boy who found Matthew always sat in the same way, and when he came onstage and sat down like that, I didn't need to be told who we was. I didn't need to hear him speak. I saw the character. Cassie (the narrator-type character) had a lot less introducing to do by the second and third acts.

I guess being a mimic is an essential part of being an actor. It's just very hard to do and not feel like a huge phony, like Caitlin mentioned. Part of acting is being decisive, being bold, and making those choices, going with them.

I'm done rambling. Thanks a bunch.
- Brent McFarlane


This is a very hard topic...I really don't pay attention to what I do on stage...I kind of almost balck out I guess and become the person I'm portraying. I put who I really am in the back of mind and bring out all these alternate personalities that are inside me. I don't think I really bring personal experiences into portraying my character. i've lived a VERY BORING life up till now...you could say I'm a very sheltered scaredy cat! lol So I don't have much to bring to the work, except what I've studied through other people. If I see someone in real life portray manner that might be useful in future characterisation I kind of file it away.
I could just be sounding really cheesy or phony, but this is just my technique I use.
- Bronwyn Martens
Wow, this I find really interesting. I don't black out. Ever. That's another post, though, the one I mentioned in Mari's post that I will soon post, post-post-haste.

I guess people, human beings, as a rule, are pretty conflicted. I'm Googling that Walt Whitman quote at the moment . . . here we go:

"Do I contradict myself? Very well then I contradict myself, (I am large, I contain multitudes)."

I don't know if you can really say anyone's had it easy. I mean, in a way, we all have, 'cause, you know, we're all rich and privileged as hell to be at a university like this, speaking in a global sense (wow, I'm preachy). But we've all felt joy, sadness, excitement, anger, etc., and very strongly. Personal experiences and/or hardships are subjective and relative, and I don't feel comfortable making that judgement.

However, it certainly reflects that you consider yourself to have been in large part unshaken by whatever went on in your life, which is healthy and good, and probably advantageous as an actor.

Anybody else have things they'd rather not bring to bear on the stage? I know I do. "I could use this experience in a scene, but I'd rather not go there." Anybody feel a bit of that?
- Brent McFarlane


With my character Lady Teazle I kind of already had a snotty yet playful attitude within me, because this is how I am with my family and friends sometime, just for fun of course...lol But I didn't have to work very hard to find her character...it just came very naturally to me. I also had a very clear vision of what her relationship with Sir Peter would be like too, and I just found it to be a very fun scene to do!
- Bronwyn Martens
I think that actors are almost mimicers (is that how you spell if it is even a word?) or maybe copycats if you will. Bronwyn sort of mentioned this and I agree with her. I guess we kind of imitate people and their actions and emotions and such. Hmm... yeah wlel that's it. It's kind of like how Raymon said at the beginning of the year how actors tend to learn orally. I know I do! Like with music, I can't sight read, I have to sit down and look at it for awhile and play slowly. but if my teachers plays it first, then it doesn't take me long to learn at all because I just copy her. I don't know if this is the same with emotions. But I know that it was easier to play my part after watching Pinters Betrayal (is that what it's called?) Jules kind of had the same emotions that I had to portray, although portrayed somehwat differently. Same with Stephanie in the Greek scene. So after watching their scenes I think I did a better job than if I went before them. I don't know how much truth there is in this other than speculation. So I guess it's just something to think about, or not, if you're already done thinking. Ok I'm done! Maybe...

Cheers Caitlin


Okay, here goes. It's that post that I kept saying was coming.

Basically, this is mostly in response to Bronwyn's post about how she "blacks out" and becomes the character. I find that darn-near impossible. I mean, I know she doesn't mean it as literally, maybe, as I'm taking it in that sense, but I never even feel like that.

I can never concentrate on just one thing. I can still concentrate well enough on things, well enough to do them, but my mind wanders, constantly. I'm typing, but for whatever reason, I've decided to watch my hands with my peripheral vision. I don't know why I'm doing that, so now I'm thinking about that. Someone is putting money into the printer terminal, 'cause it's making that weird coin-drop noise. I wonder where that comes from. There's an interesting squeak coming out of the rotating chair next to me. I wonder how that would sound as a sample in a song. And so forth. The whole time, I was still fully functioning as someone posting on a message board. I don't have that singular concentration, though.
That's why I find Stanislavski frustrating, and why I'm finding Acrobat so helpful. Wangh talks about not blocking out the audience, about not needing to force yourself into absolute concentration, but to integrate those things into your performance, to take that energy and use it as your own, like a judo or aikido master. (He explains things way better than I do.)

For me, this works way better. Stanislavski demands total concentration, and I can't force myself into that. I think he's nuts. That's just my approach, and my path, though. I'm not a fourth-wall-heavy kinda actor. I think I have stronger tendencies toward clown, towards direct interaction with the audience. The three to four times I have felt a level of mastery of an audience (very, very rare), I was playing a bit to them. I wasn't giving everything away, as I tend to sometimes, but I was inviting them in, like Raymon said. Citing Raymon again, it *is* like the sprinter relaxing at 50m. Stanislavski doesn't let me relax. What Wangh is saying does.

I'm finding stuff that makes sense. It's good. READ ACROBAT!
- Brent McFarlane

... Link


... Comment
Morning thread

Hope this is in the right spot. Some interesting ideas in this thread. Do we actually take on someone else's voice and movements as Austin suggests? In my scene I found the character gave me the voice -- not the other way around. The character told me how to move. When it works -- when magic, transformation, the heavenly happens -- it is like being in someone else's body and soul. Oops, there's that word. Great discussion Wed. night. Still pondering the soul idea. Is it that which gives breath? The space between the "I" and "Thou" as the philosopher said? In any case -- something of the divine.

... Link


... Comment

Avoiding the subject of Tchaikovsky, towards whom (as Raymon correctly pointed out) I would have a strong affinity as a fellow countryman, I would like to use another example.

Why should you care if somebody takes Mozart's music and makes it into jazz? I think the answer is because you want to try and preserve as much of the original vision as possible. Why?

There is nothing to stop artists from interpreting the symphonies in whatever ways they want – as long as they do not call those interpretations "Mozart's symphonies". That would simply be a lie. Call them something else ("Joe's take on Moe-dude?"), which would reflect the changes. Make sure people who come to listen are aware that the piece has been changed. Otherwise, we as artists would be running the risk of having the audience totally forget what the original was. It may not be that bad for one or two performances, but if the process runs for a long enough time, we will forget ourselves.
To add our vision to Mozart's may result in something deeper in the end. But to be honest to ourselves and to the work we need to know the scores written by him, played as it was intended. We need these constraints even if it is only to provide “obstacles” against which to work.

I fear that the currently embraced attitude of easily accepting any amount of cultural change (which is really a mass culture phenomenon) may lead us all to forgetfulness. What will we be if we do not remember? If we do not care to look back? I do not pretend to know. All I feel is that right now the West looks like it's becoming more and more nomadic; not in space, but in time.

All of this IMHO, of course.

... Link

The notion of art as remembering is a provocative one. What do we choose to remember? What gets forgotten through time? The art of storytelling strives to keep the breath of the story alive, yet each telling reveals a new truth. Some change is inevitable, maybe necessary. Sometimes stories need to be rewritten to find truth -- look at history. How do we know when the integrity of a piece has been upheld? Look at all the examples of "taken ideas" that have led to brilliant art -- Shakespeare himself has borrowed. I think we simply know if the truth survives a major change -- we will feel. But unless we tackle Mozart he will be forgotten. Some argue that the idea of the symphony, for example, is dead anyway. Let's breath new life in these dead guys! Perhaps this way, people will become interested in the old Mozart. And anyway, in order to rewrite Mozart (or replay!) you have to know those scores intimately. In fact, I argue that you are resurrecting Lazarus. And yet to hear some of these old works on period intruments is breathtaking - probably because it actually so new sounding to us. Do I contradict myself? I think the biggest danger to art is the "tradition" argument. On the weekend I saw a performance of Everyman put on by STM. Great costumes, but I felt the play lacked "soul". All through the play I kept wondering what would happen if someone were to "mess" with the interpretation. What if Everyman was presented as a street person instead of a Middle Ages person? Theatre has to grab you by the throat -- make me stop breathing for a minute.

... link

You say Shakespeare has borrowed. Right! And so he put HIS "trademark" on it. When we read or see Shakespeare, we know we are seeing Shakespeare - not the legends or fairy tails he borrowed the ideas from. I argue that we must not lose sight of the identity of any piece. I am not saying: let' s keep it stagnant and boring, and not living. My point is: if you change Mozart - acknowledge the change, so that the audience and the artists themselves are not deluded into thinking that this is what Mozart wrote.

And if your interpretation of Mozart is "better" than the original - well, then Mozart will be forgotten eventually, just like the people Shakespeare borrowed from were forgotten. That would be a natural process. To do otherwise seems to me akin to Stalin's strategies, where he would erase faces from a photograph (or put himself into photographs) in order to rewrite history.

... link

Good point about Stalin -- but what about women being left out of the photographs entirely - completely faceless? Sometimes history HAS to be rewritten.
Yes, acknowledge the change. I wouldn't go as far as saying that art is about delusion, only illusion. Maybe -- said that too quickly. Anyhow, still pondering your notion of the West as being Nomadic in time.

... link

discussion group

Would anyone be interested in getting a group together to re-hash 117? Liz had a study group last semester and I found it quite useful in preparing me for the final exam. who's in?

... link


... Comment

 
online for 7922 Days
last updated: 6/9/22, 7:43 PM
status

Youre not logged in ... Login

Questions or enquires to rmontalbetti@gmail.com Maintained by R. Montalbetti
menu
... home
... topics
... Home
... Tags


... antville home
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
June
recent
Hamlet Collage ‘04 Rehearsals have
begun. The Fall production is a project based on the...
by raymon (6/9/22, 7:43 PM)
Feehan Productions Archive Complete Archive
Hamlet Collage '08 Ecstasy of Rita is Joe '07 Lotus...
by raymon (6/9/22, 6:01 PM)
Enemy of the People '09
. . . Enemy of the People . . ....
by raymon (6/9/22, 5:59 PM)
Complete Archive Fall Productions:
2019/20 Jessica a Ceremony - A reworking of Jessica by Linda...
by raymon (6/9/22, 12:13 AM)
Welcome to Drama Classes
Information about the Drama Classes of R. Montalbetti To post please...
by raymon (2/20/19, 11:25 PM)
Course Description Drama 10, 20
and 30 Class Announcements Drama 10 Drama 20 Drama 30...
by raymon (1/29/12, 1:11 PM)
Models
Model from Development through Drama - Brian Way Grade Levels Model from BC Curriculum...
by raymon (4/21/09, 6:27 PM)
Latest 2008/9
by raymon (3/24/09, 10:22 PM)
Assignments 104 1. Keep a
class journal. An entry for each class documenting your experience....
by raymon (3/24/09, 10:20 PM)
I adore this scene.
by actout (8/26/08, 3:50 AM)

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher