acting
 
Thursday, 22. January 2004
Liverpool Scenes (9 - 11)

9
W: So you're going at last.
M: Seems like it.
W: Is that yes or no?
M: Unless you've got some other idea.
W: I've run out of ideas. Why, do you
have any other ideas?
M: If I had I suppose I wouldn't be
going, would I?
W: 1 suppose not. Anyway, I've tried
everything.
M: You've tried everything?
W: We've both tried everything, I sup-
pose. I suppose there's no point in
hanging on. No point in trying
again. No point in going over the
same old ground again and again
and again. Best to give up, I sup-
pose. Cut one's losses. Go, go. Try
with somebody else.
M: There's nobody else.
W: You'll find somebody else.
M: So will you.
W: I daresay. Not to worry about me.
M: We did agree it would be best.
W: I know we agreed. I'm saying, go,
go. Only.
M: Only what?
W: It's your decision.
M: My decision!
W: Just so long as you realize. It's your
decision.
M: We both agreed…
W: We both agreed but it's your deci-
sion. it's still your decision. You're
the one who's going.
M: One of us has to go.
W: And you're the one. You’ve made
the decision to go. I haven’t. I can’t
make decisions for you. Just so long as you realize
M: Do you want me to go?
W: 1 want you to make your own deci-
sion and do your own thing. I'm not
going to hold you back. If you want
to go. 1 also don't want to be—held
responsible —if you do.
M: Do you want me to go?
W: I want you to do as you think fit!
M: Do you want me to go!
Do you want me to go!!
W: No.
Do you want to go?
M: No.
Oh, what else is there to say?
W: We'll find something.

10
(The MAN is talking)
W: Just a minute, can you stop?
M: What's the matter?
W: I'm bored with this conversation.
M: You're what?
W: The conversation doesn't interest me.
M: 0h?
W: Can you talk about something else?
M: Certainly, if you want me to. I do
apologize for boring you.
W: Not you, your conversation. You
weren't to know, I was trying to look
interested. My fault.
M: You mean you should have looked
bored?
W: No, 1 should have told you straight
away I wasn't interested.
M: Hm. Does this often happen?
W: What?
M: Finding yourself saddled with a
crashing bore?
W: You are not a crashing bore.
M: Just an ordinary bore.
W; I've offended you.
M: Me? Why should I be offended.
You're the one who should be offended,
having to put up with a crashing bore.
W: You are not….
M: After all, if one's a crashing bore it's
best that one's told. Thank you. For
telling me. That I'm a....
W: Stop it.
M: Am 1 boring you again?
W: Listen. Stop it and listen, be quiet
and shut up and listen. It's quite
simple. You were talking about
something which didn't interest me. I
should have let you know at once.
Instead I pretended lo be interested.
It was my mistake. I apologize.
M: Oh, don’t apologize. I should apolo-
gize, I’m the bore.
W: You're not listening. . . .
M: And now I have news for you. May
I tell it, at the risk of boring you?
W: Go on.
M: This conversation is boring me. So
shall we change the subject? Or bet-
ter still, since we both find each
other such crashing bores, perhaps
I'll put the television on.
W: 1 don't want television, 1 want to
talk to you.
M: In spite of the fact that I'm.. ..
W: Please. Stop it, please, please.
M: The sad thing is. I was only telling
you that story because 1 thought you
might be interested. It was of no in-
terest to me.

11
M: How would you like to go to the
cinema tonight?
W: Tonight?
M: If you're not doing anything else.
W: No, I'm not doing anything else.
M: How about it then?
W: Erm. Yes, all right. If you like.
M: Not if I like. If you like. Do you
want to go?
W: You want to go, don't you?
M: If you do.
W: Mm. All right, then.
M: You don't sound terribly enthusias-
tic. Is there anything else you want
to do?
W: No no.
M: Or we could stay in. We don't have
to go out.
W: We may as well. No reason why
not.
M: The reason why not would be if you
didn't want to go.
W: I've told you. I'll come if you're
going.
M: I don't want to drag you out just
because you think I want to go.
W: Don't you want to go then?
M: I want to go if you want to go. Do
you want to go to the cinema or
not?
W: Yes. Erm. Yes. yes.
M: You're sure?
W: I'm sure. yes.
M: You don't sound very sure.
W: I'm easy. If you're going I'll come
with you.
M: Just because I'm going?
W: I don't care either way, honestly. I’ll
stay in or I'll go out. 1 honestly don't
give a damn either way.
M: Oh, well, let's stay in, for God's
sake.
W: Why?
M: There's no point going if you don't
want to go.
W: There is a point. You want to go.
M: I don't want to go to the bloody
cinema, I just thought you might like
to go to the cinema. 1 do wish you'd
say what you want now and then.
W: So. We're in for another jolly eve-
ning at home, are we?

... Comment

 
online for 7924 Days
last updated: 6/9/22, 7:43 PM
status

Youre not logged in ... Login

Questions or enquires to rmontalbetti@gmail.com Maintained by R. Montalbetti
menu
... home
... topics
... Home
... Tags


... antville home
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
June
recent
Hamlet Collage ‘04 Rehearsals have
begun. The Fall production is a project based on the...
by raymon (6/9/22, 7:43 PM)
Feehan Productions Archive Complete Archive
Hamlet Collage '08 Ecstasy of Rita is Joe '07 Lotus...
by raymon (6/9/22, 6:01 PM)
Enemy of the People '09
. . . Enemy of the People . . ....
by raymon (6/9/22, 5:59 PM)
Complete Archive Fall Productions:
2019/20 Jessica a Ceremony - A reworking of Jessica by Linda...
by raymon (6/9/22, 12:13 AM)
Welcome to Drama Classes
Information about the Drama Classes of R. Montalbetti To post please...
by raymon (2/20/19, 11:25 PM)
Course Description Drama 10, 20
and 30 Class Announcements Drama 10 Drama 20 Drama 30...
by raymon (1/29/12, 1:11 PM)
Models
Model from Development through Drama - Brian Way Grade Levels Model from BC Curriculum...
by raymon (4/21/09, 6:27 PM)
Latest 2008/9
by raymon (3/24/09, 10:22 PM)
Assignments 104 1. Keep a
class journal. An entry for each class documenting your experience....
by raymon (3/24/09, 10:20 PM)
I adore this scene.
by actout (8/26/08, 3:50 AM)

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher