acting
 
Thursday, 15. August 2002
Morning Discuss -2003

Articulate, Inquire, Inform, Involve . . .

... Comment

A website, eh?

Well, I just stumbled upon this lovely resource...
I had no idea...
Well.
Hello Raymon.
I just want to say what an excellent job you are doing with your Drama 116 T/Th morning class; I am enjoying it beyond the extremes to which classes "should be enjoyed."
Tues. the 7ths chorus of "let it be" was really one of the most inspiring things I've ever been involved in.
What a high that gave me.
Thanks for keeping it interesting!

... Link

"Let it be"

That was certainly amazing.. it really touched everyone.. and had special meaning for me as well
I love that we all hardly know each other (well maybe not hardly), but yet we do all these exercises like we've known each other forever and that comfort level is right up there.. most of the time anyways :)

... link


... Comment
All alone

Even now, after this website has been made known to the class, I am still all alone on this message board. Alas, will I never find company?

... Link

Me TOO!!!

Yes, I am here too. I was just gonna wait until someone else had something to say and then respond but since no one but you has I thought might as well make it two people.

... link

Me Three!

ditto.

... link

...

I'm just a follower of the crowd..

... link


... Comment
Found

Ok & I check in too!
Thanks thralex - yes "let it be" has now become a song which enters those treasured spaces of pure joy.
While a high school student played in a garage band (bass guitar) and we entered a competition doing a cover of "let it be" and a Steppenwolf classic which eludes memory right now. Who knew that 35 years later would . . .

... Link


... Comment
Oh So Good!

The T/Th morning class with Raymond has been so awsome! I learnt way more than i thought i would ever learn with acting! Its so wonderful! I still can't get over those days learning about the lives of others, wow! that was intence! And ditto to everything said about let it be! What a great experence! THANKS FOR EVERYTHING!

... Link

:)

It's interesting to think you have people figured out.. only to see just how wrong you really were.
And that was only a tiny fraction of our lives we shared.. makes you realize the complexity of an individual

... link

TOTALLY!

ITS SO TRUE AQUAMARINE!!!! You think that an individual is just something simple and that we understand them just by seeing how they act and behave but you listen to them talk for 5 or 10 minutes something like that.. and you learn SOOOOOOO much more than you do just sitting there and watching..
WOH!

... link

LOL

Excited much?

... link

Yes Yes i am!

Who is aquamarine?! I was excited you totally said what i was thinking about that class! and i like being excited! :)!

... link

The Mystery of Me

lol
that's the fun part about this board.. it can be anonymous.. lol
Just jokes.. it's Mari
Who is this?

... link

ITS A MYSTERY!

nono.. its just ashley!... GO FIGURE :)
So today was pretty crazy! i don't know what to say....... bye!

... link

Anyone else out there?

Sweet! Well.. we seem to be the only ones still on this board.. what is up with that???

... link

maybe we are just cool :)

i don't know where everyone else is.. but i think this is a great way to talk about the class and everything.. but yea.. so what is our next topic?

... link

Can I be cool too?

What's up guys? I want to join team online-drama-discussion. whoo whoo?!
See you tuesday.

... link

Possibly...

But to join the board.. you have to first pass the test.. lol Just jokes
Join the party! :)

... link


... Comment
Essay

Anyone out there started their essay yet??

... Link

I have not...I'm trying to get everything else under control right now...and decide who i'm going to do it on.

... link

Same here

It's been hard to find an actor that I've heard of, and am interested in, and has information out there on them, and FINALLY, the kind of information that we're looking for.
But I think I might do Colin Mochrie.. ya know from Who's Line?
That's the story..
THE END

... link

I think i know kinda?

That title doesn't make sence.. but i think i know who i am going to do and i have a book on them and a biography... thats supose to be coming in.(Jim Carrey) so hopefully it works out.. i don't have any research done or anything.. i have a different paper that i have to REwrite now.. so i have to concentrate on that.. if anyone has any ideas for me! let me know :) and ican help you too :)
see ya'll tomorrow :)

... link

Finally came up with a person

I have to say that I found it quite hard to come with an actor and it wasn't until today that I finally came up with one. I plan on doing my paper on Yul Brynner. Did anyone else find it a little hard to find a large amount of information

... link


... Comment
Is it just me?

Hey i don't know if its just me... but ever since the class with the candles and source work and all that, i have been getting way more out of this class! That class didn't want me to turn away and drop drama i think it pulled me in farther for the ride!
What do ya'll think?

... Link

Possibly

I haven't really decided what the full impact of the source work was for me. Honestly it was intense, but I found the work we did with putting on our outside clothes REALLY worked for me too. I don't know it's hard to explain.. lol

... link

i agree

It is getting very hard to explain.. all the stuff that we are doing! its INTENCE, and i am writing in my journal and everything but it is still reall hard to verbalize everything.. Is anyone else out there haveing problems with that?
Last week was so great and im upset we don't have drama tomorrow :(

... link

Expressing ourselves

Yeah, it's funny.. you'd think we'd be good at expressing ourselves.. maybe it's just the written part that's hard. I could probably demonstrate for someone what's going on.. maybe.. lol
I definitely agree though that journal work is harder than it seems at first glance

... link


... Comment
Wha-hey!

Holy cow! Look at all these people! I completely forgot about this place for almost a whole month, and now it is bountiful with the presence of my classmates! Cool!
I have to agree with most of what everyone has said about our recent classes, definitely. I was getting a bit "down on drama" for a while, but these past two weeks have sent me spiralling upward into the wonderful oblivion of sound and movement once more.

... Link

totally :)

And dude.. you said you were alone!
but these last classes have been so great! seriously i luv this class so much.. but its really hard to virbalize and all!

... link

It is cool

So who is thralex anyways??

... link

A puzzle for you

Two people in our class know the name Thralex.
Find them and you will find me.
Hahahahahaha!

... link

Not fair!!

When will I have time to do that?? lol :)

... link


... Comment
Final

Has anyone started thinking about the final?? I have... but I REALLY don't know what to expect.. any ideas?? Hopefully, communication like this about the class might help prepare ourselves for the final.. maybe

... Link

The final!!

I have started to think about it and pulled the study guide questions off the link. Now I am more on what to expect. We have learned so much and it will be difficult to articulate all of this. Good luck. I am with the night class.

... link

Princess?

Are you the Lady of the Wall? I have thought about the final. I think it is harder when we know what to study. I like a gamble myself. Does the second question about text have to do with the text as we are using in class? Still struggling with this all.

... link

Question #2

Yes - it asks for a reflection on the "work" on memorized text.

... link


... Comment
The prop

Think I found a prop for my work. I'm in Mon./Wed. class. Anyway, so excited, because I think it will help shape my work. Not what I expected I'd use.
Class is amazing! Why didn't anyone tell me about drama when I was in high school - back in the days! What a journey!

... Link

is it just me??

I'm in the 116 mon/wed night class, and I'm reading all these comments and wondering how people are getting study guide questions. There aren't any here! Help me out, anyone?

... link

Exam questions

Leafslider,
Go to the home page. Click on 116.3. Then look at the top of the page and click on Topics. You will find "exam" there. Good luck!

... link

Study Guide Questions 116

Click 116.3 on Homepage > Handouts & Assignments > Final Exam Study Guide Questions.

... link

OOPS!

Sorry about that Leafslider! Raymon to the rescue! What do you think about the questions? I think that last one is the most challenging - any ideas out there? I wonder can we relate our research paper to ideas in our reading or our own experiences in the class? Nice to have the time to think about this.

... link

Lady of the Wall!!@@

Bede, what is Lady of the Wall? Too cute. Better then being called lady of the night. I think Raymon gave us enough information of what to expect and his expectations of what he wants from us. Based on what he has all said over the past two weeks I think if you have participated, came to class on a regular basis, handed in your journal and paper then we should have no worries. He has spoken a lot about text work, impulse, imagination, organic work ect ect. Review your journal and practice writing out your answers. Another classmate and I were talking about getting together after class to discuss the questions. Maybe after Monday or Wednesday's class. The Princess. hee hee. Guess who I am.

... link

Are You Cat?

There are two ladies of the wall - no three now that I think about it. And Cat - you may be one. Then there are the men of the wall to consider. Hmmmm. Anyway, Princess, how did you think Monday night went? It was incredible to watch everyone's work. I was truly moved by so many people's work. I'm nervous, yes even more now that Monday is done, about next class. I'm so torn about what to do next. I think my work can go two ways, one that I hope develops from where I began, and the other a completely new path. New path, same source, new imagined character, same text -blah blah blah. Will try some of this tonight and see. Dare I risk something new so late?

... link

I am KAT!!!

HI! I finally registered myself. For all of you in the night class, you might find the December 3rd entry on my webpage somewhat interesting. I am planning on bringing it with me on friday night. I also want to get everybodyes email addresses, in between all of the studying :P So, yah, I'm now registered on here. Yay for forum type things!
~Kat

... link

what is it you would have me do, my countrymen?

and there you have it. I hope people bring their journals tonight as I, in my usual procrastinating ways, left some entries until now and have forgotten or confused the details. I'll be asking a lot of questions, believe you me. Friends don't friends..fail the class...I'm kidding. See most of you (I'm looking at you, princess) tonight.

... link

Kochokochokocho!

Kat, what an amazing live journal entry! Leafslider - are you Matt, or Alison? Anyhow, I'll be a little late tonight.
The cake was fabulous, company great, and
Raymon his usual poetic self.

... link

Study group!!!

Great study group, most helpful and insightful. We actually studied and only took two hours to answer the first two questions!! Thank you to those who were able to make. If I am unable to get in for the Jan 03 class, I will be sad but will love you forever, I will love you for always.

The Princess.

... link

Next meeting?

Sorry I had to miss the study session. Sounds like you were all productive. Anything planned for Monday or Tues. night for last minute panic attacks? Anyone interested in meeting on campus Tues. evening?

... link

Question?

Heh dudes...are we supposed to hand in our journals again...even though we handed them in two weeks ago? Friday night study group, yee-haw! Thank you, Raymon, for a great class!! Looking forward to next year.

... link

Journals

Bring journals to final exam. Full journal with all entries.
They will be returned as you leave.
Thanks.

... link

Exam

Regarding question number two (focused on text), when asked to select a colleague's 'text work', does this mean choose another classmates text and reflect on it?

Yes & you may choose more than one classmates 'text work'. Reflect on the working process not on the text/words itself.

Also, in question number four, it asks us to formulate a question based on our readings or select a topic and write an essay. Following this, there are two topics to write about (what are the concepts and practices that make an invisible actor, explore the quote from Acrobat of the Heart), is that what we are to choose from?

No you may write about any question you wish. The two topics were examples only.

... link


... Comment
paper

When is the last day that raymon wants the papers in? Can we e-mail them to him instead of truckn' down to the university? Anyone know?

... Link

Papers Due

Night Class - Monday Dec. 15
Morning Class - Fri. - Dec. 19

Papers may be emailed but please if you do not receive email notification of receipt send again!

raymon.montalbetti@usask.ca

... link

Things Past

remembrances of moving in space
texture, sound, silence
marriage between body and emotion
kiss shared
following,leading, carving
masks uncovering masks
falling, rising
gathering leaves of things past.

So there it is my fellows. Baci.

... link

Please help

What is the stlye of acting called where the actor studies the person who they are going to play even to the point of moving in with him? I need to know this for my essay...THANKS!

... link

What?#@$#

Uhhhh, unimaginative?

... link

Sorry!

What do I know about theory - nothing really. Please ignore my comment. The method just strikes me as a bit much. Are actors supposed to be clones?
I can see some value in studying a person's movements, tone/pitch, habits etc. but I still maintain that it might produce some artificial picture. I don't know....could be funny in some ways...ahh, too much to think about....anyone else out there with some real idea of topic?

... link


... Comment
Stupid Question

Ok, this may seem like a slightly stupid question, but who on the forums is going to Calgary next weekend?

... Link

Audition!! Help

I will love anyone forever if they can be of any assistance to me. I am going for an audition on Tuesday January 6, 2004 and since I have never been to one I have no idea of what to expect. I have my selected monologue but do not know if we can bring props or not? Do we get to watch one another audition? Getting a little nervous.
Please advise anyone with experience or knowledge in this area.

Princess.

... link


... Comment

 
online for 7946 Days
last updated: 6/9/22, 7:43 PM
status

Youre not logged in ... Login

Questions or enquires to rmontalbetti@gmail.com Maintained by R. Montalbetti
menu
... home
... topics
... Home
... Tags


... antville home
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
June
recent
Hamlet Collage ‘04 Rehearsals have
begun. The Fall production is a project based on the...
by raymon (6/9/22, 7:43 PM)
Feehan Productions Archive Complete Archive
Hamlet Collage '08 Ecstasy of Rita is Joe '07 Lotus...
by raymon (6/9/22, 6:01 PM)
Enemy of the People '09
. . . Enemy of the People . . ....
by raymon (6/9/22, 5:59 PM)
Complete Archive Fall Productions:
2019/20 Jessica a Ceremony - A reworking of Jessica by Linda...
by raymon (6/9/22, 12:13 AM)
Welcome to Drama Classes
Information about the Drama Classes of R. Montalbetti To post please...
by raymon (2/20/19, 11:25 PM)
Course Description Drama 10, 20
and 30 Class Announcements Drama 10 Drama 20 Drama 30...
by raymon (1/29/12, 1:11 PM)
Models
Model from Development through Drama - Brian Way Grade Levels Model from BC Curriculum...
by raymon (4/21/09, 6:27 PM)
Latest 2008/9
by raymon (3/24/09, 10:22 PM)
Assignments 104 1. Keep a
class journal. An entry for each class documenting your experience....
by raymon (3/24/09, 10:20 PM)
I adore this scene.
by actout (8/26/08, 3:50 AM)

RSS Feed

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher